Alexander Graham Bell

In the course of researching Mr. Bell, I learned that he was quite a bit about our phone-fabricating friend. Did you know that he didn’t have a middle name until he was 11? He asked for a middle name form his parents, and they gave him one that they picked for his birthday.

This raises an interesting question for me: Shouldn’t AGB get to pick his own middle name? At first I thought ,”Absolutely! It’s his name after all! He should choose his own destiny.” But then I thought about what I would have named myself at age 11, and I don’t know how my life would have worked out if I was Pete Darth Vader Glanting. I do not have an easy answer for this middle name conundrum, though I do hope Alexander Graham Bell at least got a toy in addition to middle name.

alexander graham bell

Leave a Reply

