Janis Joplin

In highschool, my freshman social studies class tasked us with a report on an artist, accompanied by a presentation as the artist. One of my classmates “Maggie” reported on Janis Joplin, and for her presentation, wore some makeup (which I do not believe JJ did, but my report was on Marcel Duchamp, so what do I know). When my friend  “Steve” saw that Maggie wore makeup, he said, intending some light-hearted jest, “Ugh! What’d you do to your face?!”.  Maggie cried for the remainder of the class (the teacher let her present the next day) as Steve tried to apologize. It was not very productive in social studies that day.

janis joplin

Leave a Reply

